The aim of the All-Party Parliamentary Group (APPG) on Limits to Growth

is to provide a new platform for cross-party dialogue on economic growth in a time of environmental and social transition. The APPG is chaired by Caroline Lucas MP (Green) and co-chaired by Daniel Zeichner MP (Labour), Kevin Hollinrake (Conservatives) and Alan Whitehead (Labour). Its principal aims are:

  • to create the space for cross-party dialogue on specific economic risks related to environmental and social limits;
  • to assess the evidence for such limits, identify the risks and build support for appropriate responses; and
  • to contribute to the international debate on redefining prosperity and measures of growth.

The full membership of the APPG

includes the following parliamentarians:

Lord Deben (Conservative)
Barry Gardiner MP (Labour)
Kevin Hollinrake MP (Conservative)
Lord Howarth (Labour)
Baroness Jones (Green)
Jonathan Lord MP (Conservative)
Caroline Lucas MP (Green)
Lord Oxburgh (Crossbench)
David Puttnam MP (Labour)
Jonathan Reynolds MP (Labour)
Lord Skidelsky (Crossbench)


The APPG on Limits to Growth is an officially recognised cross-party group of MPs and Lords in the UK Parliament. The membership of the group is restricted to Members of the House of Commons and the House of Lords. If you would like to be kept informed about the group’s activities, please subscribe to the CUSP mailing list or follow us on Twitter and Facebook. The secretariat for the APPG on Limits to Growth is provided by the ESRC Centre for the Understanding of Sustainable Prosperity (CUSP) at the University of Surrey.

We want to hear from you – please write us at appg@cusp.ac.uk, or enter the discussion on our Limits Revisited page.

. . .

The All-Party Parliamentary Group on Limits to Growth would like to extend its thanks to those involved in the formation and management of the APPG, including Victor Anderson, Gemma Birkett, Catherine Cameron, Ian Christie, Mike Clark, Ray Cunningham, Linda Geßner, Julie-Anne Hogbin, Nick Hurd MP, Tim Jackson, Aled Jones, David Powell, Catriona Power, Kate Raworth, Rupert Read and Charlotte Searle. Special thanks go to Irma Allen for providing the initial stimulus and coordinating the early stages of the group.