

## **APPG on Limits to Growth AGM**

26<sup>th</sup> February 2020 Portcullis House

Notes of the meeting:

## 1 Election of officers

## **Voting parliamentarians present:**

- Clive Lewis MP
- Ben Lake MP
- Peter Bottomley MP
- Natalie Bennett
- Alison Thewliss MP
- Rupa Huq MP
- Danny Kruger MP
- Claire Tyler MP
- Deidre Brock MP
- Alex Sobel MP
- Claire Hanna MP
- Patrick Grady MP
- Jonathan Ashworth MP

## 2 Briefing

Following a general election, the group duly re-constituted and unanimously elected the following officers:

- Chair Caroline Lucas MP (in absentia)
- Vice Chair Clive Lewis MP
- Officer Peter Bottomley MP
- Officer Alison Thewliss MP
- Officer Baroness Claire Tyler MP

Following official reconstitution business, a specially prepared **briefing paper** 'Wellbeing Matters—Tackling Growth Dependency' was presented to the group by Professor Tim Jackson, highlighting some alternatives to the conventional approach to measuring social progress, and presenting a three-fold strategy for moving beyond GDP.

Further expert contributions were provided by Peter Schmidt, rapporteur to the European Economic and Social Committee's recent 'own initiative opinion' on **The sustainable economy** 

**we need**, and Lisa Hough-Stewart, communications lead for the Wellbeing Economy Alliance (WeAll)—giving details of the **Wellbeing Economy Governments initiative** (WEGo) which to date has Scotland, Iceland and New Zealand collaborating towards their shared goal of promoting economies based on wellbeing.